There's vegan ghee, vegan curd, vegan milk, vegan butter, and even vegan paneer! What are they for, and who are they for?
Vegan food products are made without animal products, so they're a great choice for vegetarians and vegans. They exist primarily to help consumers add more plant-based foods into their daily routine. Vegan food can be made from a wide variety of ingredients, including legumes (rajma & dal), grains (rice), vegetables and fruits. Here's a list of 14 food groups vegans can eat.
The term vegan is used to describe a dietary lifestyle which avoids all animal products in food, clothing, cosmetics, and any other product you'd need to live. Materials like leather, silk, and wool are also avoided as part of a philosophy or lifestyle.
Vegan products are free of animal products and byproducts. That means they don't contain any animal ingredients, including milk, eggs, honey, whey, casein, gelatin, fish oil, bone char, or any ingredient made with or from animal parts (like rennet.)
Do you need to be vegan to buy vegan food products? Of course not! Anyone can enjoy them, and everyone should try them - especially if you have a food allergy, a desire to try new foods, or you just want to eat healthier.
It's important to note that not all vegans follow the same diet, either!
A vegan is a person who does not eat, use, or wear animal products. Vegans do not eat meat, fish, dairy, eggs or honey and they do not wear leather or use products tested on animals. Vegans also avoid using products that contain animal ingredients such as gelatin.
Anyone can be a vegan, no matter your lifestyle - even if it seems challenging at first. Someone, somewhere has figured it out, and so can you!
Vegan food excludes all animal-based foods, including meat, fish, eggs, and dairy. This is different from vegetarian food, because vegetarian food often contains dairy products like milk, ghee, butter, cream, cheese, and so on.
A vegan product is one that doesn't contain any trace of animal-derived ingredients. Common animal-based ingredients to avoid as a vegan are: eggs, honey, milk, whey, casein, cheese, butter, fish flakes, fish oil, ghee, parmesan cheese, mayonnaise, cream, egg whites, meat, chicken broth, gelatin, and so on.
So if you are interested in becoming vegan, don't feel overwhelmed or stressed out - there are many resources available to help you. We even created India's first beginner's guide to veganism in India!
Check out these other resources to help you:
Vegan YouTube channels
Watch vegan movies
Read vegan books
Talk to vegans about their experiences and what they've learned!
If you enjoyed this blog post, check out some of our other blogs on this topic:
Leave a comment